Driver Education

Driver Education

Silver Spring Driving Academy is proud to offer standardized Maryland MVA approved driver education course consisting of a minimum of 30-hours of classroom instruction and 6-hours behind the wheel instruction training.

Upon completion of the program Silver Spring Driving Academy will electronically submit verification of completion to the MVA and you will be eligible to obtain a Provisional Driver’s License in Maryland.


When should I take my driver education classes?

Student must be minimum 15 years of age to receive the classes.

Students could attend the classroom part of the program before obtaining a learner’s permit.

Would I be able to take my 6 hours behind the wheel evaluation without a learner’s permit?

No, you must obtain a learner’s permit before taking your 6 hours of driving evaluation.

Before taking the 6 hours of driving evaluation, student must have received some driving training from his/her driver coach.

Students younger than 25 years of age are required by law to complete a minimum of 60 hours of supervised driving.

Students older than 25 years of age are required by law to complete a minimum of 14 hours of supervised driving.

Who is my Driver Coach?

Your driver coach is any person who has held a full license for a minimum of 3years and who is at least 21 years of age.

This person could be your parent, legal guardian, family member, or a driving school.

What if I don’t have anyone to teach me how to drive?

Our academy will be more than happy to teach you how to drive.

We offer additional practice hours at a discounted rate to existing students.

For more information click