Driver Improvement Program

Driver Improvement Program

Register for Classroom Register for Online Class

The Driver Improvement Program is a program drivers may be referred to because of all the points assessed on their driving record.

Silver Spring Driving Academy offers the 3-Hour Alcohol and Drug Education Program,online or in classroom, for people with an out of country license.

If you are an applicant for a Maryland driver's license you must complete the 3-hour alcohol and drug education program before you can receive the license if you:

  • currently possess an Armed Forces License only.
  • currently possess a driver's license from another country.
Note that people who currently possess a driver's license from another state in the United States, a U.S. territory, Canada or the Yukon territory do not have to attend this program.

The Driver Improvement Program (DIP) is a 4-8 hour instructional program that is intended to provide driver rehabilitation. You may have been assigned to the driver improvement program for one of the following reasons:

  • You were referred by a District Court Judge;
  • You were referred by an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) in the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH);
  • You accumulated 5, 6, or 7 points on your driving record;
  • You were convicted or granted probation before judgment for a moving violation while holding a provisional driver’s license.

If a judge decided that you must attend a driver improvement program, you will receive a letter from the MVA approximately 4-6 weeks after your hearing date.

Who needs to take this course?

The 3 hour Safe & Sober class is for individuals presently holding a license from a foreign country and wish to obtain a Maryland Driver's License.

How to register?

The classroom version of the program is offeredevery Saturday from 1pm – 4pm. You can register the same day of the class, please arrive a few minutes before 1p.m.

How long is this Class?

The class is only 3 hours.

How can I take this class?

We offer the Classroom Version and the Online Version of the 3-Hour Alcohol & Drug Education Program.
Classroom version is offered on Saturdays only from 1:00 P.M. to 4:00 P.M. We accept walk-ins.

What do I need to bring with me?

Payment of $60.00. This is a cash-only course.
Photo ID documents that prove your age and identity, such as your passport, your driver's license from your home country, and/or a State of Maryland ID card

Does this certificate have an expiration date?

Yes, your certificate of completion will be valid 1 year from the date it was issued.

What happens if my certificate of completion has expired, destroyed, lost, or mutilated and I have not yet completed the process to get my Maryland Driver License?

If your certificate of completion has expired, destroyed, lost, or mutilated you will then need to re-take the Safe & Sober classes all over again at your own expense. Certificate cannot be re-issued without taking the classes again.

What is the cost of the program, and are there any refunds?

The cost of the program is $50.00. This is a cash-only course. Payment is due at the time you appear for class.

What if I do not understand English?

This program is only offered in English. However, you may bring someone with you to help translate the quizzes and tests if desired.

What do I have to do if I am assigned to the Driver Improvement Program (DIP)?

You must take the driver improvement class as soon as possible to avoid license cancellation or suspension.

  • You were referred by a District Court Judge;
  • You were referred by an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) in the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH);
  • You accumulated 5, 6, or 7 points on your driving record;
  • You were convicted or granted probation before judgment for a moving violation while holding a provisional driver’s license.

Things to bring with you

  • Form of ID
  • Letter from the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration assigning you to the program.
  • Letter indicating you have successfully completed the driver improvement course through our website.
  • And $80.00 Payable in cash only.

Click here to schedule your skills test appointment with the MVA

1-888-212-4709
410-762-5082 out of state